You can’t hang an apple from a tree

You can’t hang an apple from a tree
Still I know they’re after me
Accused of murder in the first degree
Everyone thinks I did it, you see

You can’t hang an apple from a tree
Still I feel the urge to flee
It started out so innocently
Down beneath that apple tree

You can’t hang an apple from a tree
It was an accident, you see
Though I watched her take a bite with glee:
Finally, she picked me. Me, me, me!

You can’t hang an apple from a tree
It wasn’t I who poisoned me
I beg you, listen to my plea
Hang the witch instead of me

Apple by Elena Savelyeva

The prompt for today was to think of a fairytale, and write from a different perspective than the main character. I love messing with fairytales, so really liked this prompt! NaPoWriMo day 21 was happily done😉

Here are some other fairytale related writings:
Cinderella, the lost version
As if your life depended on it
A fool’s fairytale

And here is my favourite one for this prompt, written by a fellow poet I quite admire.

I found the apple I was looking for on Flickr. I thank photographer Eva Savelyeva that she shared this photo under this license. No changes were made, it’s perfect already.

5 thoughts on “You can’t hang an apple from a tree

  1. Oloriel

    Oh, poor apple! I always actually though about this, how did the poor apple feel to be the one to be poisoned. I really loved this poem!

    Reply
    1. Angela van Son Post author

      Thanks Oloriel. I must admit I’d never thought about the apple before today, but I’m glad I did. It made me think about Adam and Eve too. What is it about apples? Harmless fruit turned into evil villains. Strange.

      Reply
    1. Angela van Son Post author

      The picture is really yummy. It was so nice to go through lots of pictures of apple and find the right one.

      (I’m guessing snow white’s killer must have felt the same😉 )

      Reply

Leave a Reply

