Elevenie snapshots

Child
plays piano
in holiday cottage
fingers dancing over keyboard
proud

Trains
drive through
huge miniature landscapes
endless amounts of detail
joy

Child
plays piano
away from breakfast
mother irritated as hell
fight

Tanks
standing still
everywhere I look
luckily I’m on holiday
relieved

Child
plays piano
chooses choir sound
to annoy his mother
success

Seesaw
going up
In Hamburg playground
daddy falls off, laughing
fun

Child
plays piano
end of holiday
goodbye cottage and piano
sad

Bridges
majestically bridging
the Hamburg waters
this city once obliterated
resurrected

It’s the last day of NaPoWriMo 2017! This was the prompt: “Today, I’d like to challenge you to write a poem about something that happens again and again.” I’ve been capturing our holiday near Hamburg in elevenies. One of the recurring things was my son playing the electric piano in the cottage. We also visited wonderful exhibitions, had great food, and, unfortunately, there were many irritations.

Thanks to everyone who visited my blog, who has read my poems, who has liked, commented, responded to tweets, etc. You are what makes #NaPoWriMo so much fun!

3 thoughts on “Elevenie snapshots

  1. Dawn D

    Great poem! I like the refrain of the piano playing, the different outcomes to the (seemingly similar) action.
    I’m also sad NaPoWriMo is over. I had fun participating, mostly thanks to you who read and gave me something to read.
    It sucks having a private blog for something like this. Maybe next year I’ll be able to really join (as in reading poems from others and getting feedback on mine from other participants). It would also mean good news in my personal life, so… 😊
    As for my poem, unfortunately it’ll be much less fun than yours. It’s about history repeating itself…
    Please, keep writing! I enjoyed reading your posts!
    XO

    Reply

Leave a Reply

