Cavities

there’s a well trodden path
of things I don’t talk about

every thought a footstep
wearing the soil of my brain
increasing subsidence

no bottom in sight
an intricate pattern
a labyrinth – no exit

I need diamonds
on the soles of my shoes

Today’s prompt at napowrimo.net was write a poem that is based in the natural world: it could be about a particular plant, animal, or a particular landscape. But it should be about a slice of the natural world that you have personally experienced and optimally, one that you have experienced often. I ended up here. #NaPoWriMo day 5 is done!

7 thoughts on “Cavities

      1. Dawn D

        I don’t think I’ve followed a single prompt yet. But at least I’m writing again, which is great in itself! 😊
        I may try today’s prompt, I love writing about nature 😉
        Though… it just may take me in a different direction too 😜

Leave a Reply

