Henry Moore

Desires

I want my life to be spiced with Patti Smith songs and shaped like my favourite Henry Moore sculpture
I want to be as bold as Courbet’s Origin of the world yet as understanding as a Townes van Zandt song

I want freedom to be non consistent
productive one moment, lazy another
wise many days, stupid some days

I struggle with being the best version of me
I struggle with accepting my flaws and limitations
I struggle with boldly sharing my brilliance
– even writing this sentence feels yuck

I don’t want a freaking manifesto!
I want the freedom to create my life with the ingredients the day brings
I want to be surprised by the possibilities and at ease at choosing
I want to take the fresh stuff and the stale stuff and make a choice for just that day
I want the freedom to create my life, every day, as it comes

To create from harmony and dischord
To create from opposites that don’t attract

Each morning is spring time, alive with what hasn’t been yet, attached to what has been for ages
There’s oxygen, there’s light, there’s warmth
I want to be that suckling lamb, wagging its tail
I want to be that tender leaf, breaking from its bud
I want to be the sun, warming up what’s called life

I want
I struggle
To create
I want to be

The prompt for #NaPoWrimo day 27 was to write a poem with long sentences. This one turned out to have a life of its own.

Image source https://www.henry-moore.org/images/o_lh556_af460_0_0.jpg

7 thoughts on “Desires

  1. Maz

    Looks like to want to be in the present – something I am aiming at and struggling with myself.. Keep going, it’s worth it..

    gramswisewords.blogspot.com

    Reply
  2. jazzytower

    Oh wow! I really like this. Especially this line “Each morning is spring time, alive with what hasn’t been yet, attached to what has been for ages”. That whole stanza is my favorite. Very well done!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

