Lost marbles

Dearest brother,

Don’t read that almanac!
It’s a nightmare in a fun theme park

I have nothing to declare – unless you count the custom of kicking fish in the finns
or the time I dressed inappropriatly to impress the mayor –
She rode a chimera, wore imitation hemp and always laughed at my conspiracies

Bring me a postcard with the stupid tower when you return from the lawn mower party, will you?
The sunshine is lurking in and I’ve just found my lost marbles on the street
Did you see your Asterix and Obelix in the alley trash, backwards?

I’ve said amen to my fear of being shot – I just want to sport with reptiles
Today’s headline said women don’t write with their tits
I think I may try just that
– unsigned –

Dear sister,

You sly fox
I know you only sport with mammals
I found Asterix and Obelix in the almanac
Your bra shows the black ink on your nipples
Here’s your inappropriate postcard
It’s fish shot with marbles
Mine is hand written

Your John

Chimera d'arezzo, fi, 03

Image I, Sailko [GFDL (http://www.gnu.org/copyleft/fdl.html) or CC BY-SA 3.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0)%5D, via Wikimedia Commons

Could have been a postcard of a Chimera, right? My sevententeenth poem for #NaPoWriMo, even though we’re on day 16. I really wanted to give the prompt a try, and I had some time on my hands.

This was the prompt: Today, I challenge you to fill out, in no more than five minutes, the following “Almanac Questionnaire,” which solicits concrete details about a specific place (real or imagined). Then write a poem incorporating or based on one or more of your answers.

7 thoughts on “Lost marbles

  1. Pingback: Day Seventeen

    1. Angela van Son Post author

      I have to read Asterix and Obelix to my child every evening, so they are on my mind a lot these days🙂 Thank you David, that’s a huge compliment.

      Reply
  2. mtw

    i love that you chose to do a letter exchange! this poem is such so unapologetic and quirky – my kind of writing. the dynamic relationship between brother and sister isn’t outright stated but i can definitely pick up on how comfortable they are with each other, which is fantastic. lovely job.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

