Prompt not included

random_stupid_silhouette_by_washp-d8sc4glBread fan
Stale mate
Peak ban
Flat rate

Bread dough
Old hoe
No show
Yeast flow

Stale sale
Money low
High speed
Fake tweet

Peak rate
New tan
No show
Ray Ban

Health hazard:
Don’t inhale crisps

I’m a complicated situation
waiting to happen

Day 14 of #NaPoWriMo. I love today’s prompt: And last but not least, our (optional) prompt! Today’s prompt comes to us from TJ Kearney, who invites us to try a seven-line poem called a san san, which means “three three” in Chinese (It’s also a term of art in the game Go). The san san has some things in common with the tritina, including repetition and rhyme. In particular, the san san repeats, three times, each of three terms or images. The seven lines rhyme in the pattern a-b-c-a-b-d-c-d.

But…

I don’t like what I wrote for it. I also don’t like that I don’t want to share what I wrote for it, because I judge it ‘not good enough’. Inner conflict. So I’m sharing what I wrote yesterday evening. It somehow reflects the state of mind I was in.

Image by Washp, licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 3.0 License.

3 thoughts on “Prompt not included

    1. Angela van Son Post author

      Thanks Claire! One of the reasons I love NaPoWriMo is that we get to visit so many fellow writers and enjoy their work and talk to each other. We had the prompt about the cruellest month, but when it comes to poetry April is the nicest month 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

