Obituary

When he banged his head
his hair- so long
swished – so luscious
the strands – mesmerising

I barely heard
his voice- so loud
roaring – with passion
the grunts – in tune

And slowly we rot

The #NaPoWriMo prompt: Today, I challenge you to write a poem in which you closely describe an object or place, and then end with a much more abstract line that doesn’t seemingly have anything to do with that object or place, but which, of course, really does.

Metal and long hair always went together well. But as the fans grow older, their heads get bolder. That’s what I see around me. The band Obituary started at the end of the 80’s. On Speedfest 2015 they took the stage. Much to my surprise, there was a lot of hair on stage. I’m glad the prompt today made me write an ode 😉

The video shows long hair at 0.53, and is great to study if you’ve never been to e matalf festival and wonder what people do there.

4 thoughts on “Obituary

  1. Oloriel

    Lovely poem, maybe rude of me to say, since I seem like I am all too accustomed to the knowledge of all of us rotting.
    I had the fortune of having a rocker (not as good as a metalhead, but it counts!) in close family. He is at the moment 76, still rocking and has a gorgeous mare of yellow locks. If it was not for him, I would be expecting all the metalheads to appear on the stage bald 🙂

    Reply
  2. Pingback: NaPoWriMo – Day 11 – “Bittersweet Memories Feeding The Senses” by David Ellis | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Leave a Reply

