451 Fahrenheit

The city on fire
I, Claudius
Led the exodus

We left Rome, the ancient city
Followed the golden compass
To Perdido Street Station

Only to find a black hole

The Pickwick papers – burnt
Don Quichot – burnt

Me – a black swan

The challenge for day 10 of #NaPoWriMo was to write a “book spine” poem, with the titles you find on your book shelves. Since I wasn’t at home when I wrote this, I had to do it from the top of my head. Which was more difficult than I expected 🙂 I fit in 11, as far as I’m aware of.

Painting By John Martin – Former image source [1]; current image source [2] Location : Laing Art Gallery, Newcastle upon Tyne, Public Domain, https://commons.wikimedia.org/w/index.php?curid=919324

8 thoughts on “451 Fahrenheit

    1. Angela van Son Post author

      I felt some resistance at first, wondering if we were in for a demonstration of good taste in books. I think it was helpful that I wasn’t at home and had to make do with what I remember is on my shelves.

      Reply
      1. Le Fragi

        It’s quite often a surprise as to what currently holds place on the bookshelves – Kate Atkinson, Shakespeare and SelfHelp Writing books! Who’d have thought. G:)

    1. Angela van Son Post author

      For a fleeting second I wondered if I could be cool and answer with a book title. The answer is no 🙂 Thank you so much, I’m happy you like it.

      Reply
  1. Pingback: NaPoWriMo – Day 10 – “Soul Music The Colour Of Magic” by David Ellis | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Leave a Reply

