Honouring NaPoWriMo by performing

If you wonder where I went these last days: I’ve been travelling. I didn’t quit NaPoWrimo, I just didn’t have the facilities to post.

On day one of my travels, I wrote. On day two, I performed.

I’d like to add a number of !!!!!!!!!!!!!, because I never ever read my poems out loud. And now I did it on stage. In the Art House in Southampton, surrounded by poets who’ve been a great inspiration and wonderful online friends. And now we met…

I read:
Love vs hate (4 lines, to get used to being on stage, and I really like the idea behind it)
This one’s dedicated to you, love hunter (the most difficult one I could think of to read)
The ghost of I’m not good enough (It matched my nerves🙂 )
The ballad of free reign (A bonus performance after the break, again a difficult one to read).

It’s possible that all four have been recorded. It’s also possible that I’ll whip up the courage to post them. For now I just want to share my joy: I did it! I dared it! And I LIKED it🙂

Thanks to everybody who has supported me, by reading, liking, commenting and providing feedback. I never dreamt it would come to this. But it did. I’m happy and I’m proud. This was a big stretch.

With love and gratitude,

Angela

napo2015button1

14 thoughts on “Honouring NaPoWriMo by performing

  1. graemesandford

    Jane and I have two of of your poems on video – we think Bon-Bon-Bailey ‘Haribo’ got more – It was really great to meet you – and you were a fab performer. Well done – we’ll all be over to Flatland for the Dutch Moving Voices next year G:) and J:)

    Reply
  2. Brunhilde

    You definitely ignored the ghost to death performing that third one live on stage! Your my heroe. Have a Dutch debut planned yet? XXX

    Reply
    1. Angela van Son Post author

      Thanks so much Jane! I think I’ll write a new post when I’ve put everything together. And I’ll put the links up at the pages of the poem as well.

      Reply
  3. Dawn D

    I say well done!
    Most people I know don’t even know I write poetry, so for me to read it?
    Nah, I’m being nagged for going to bed too late because I spend hours on my computer. They don’t know. I don’t need them to know right now.
    Though my lawyer commented last time I met him that I have a thing for writing, maybe I should switch careers😉
    I will be back to read the poems, since I now have to go and get ready…
    Again: Brava! You did it! I’m impressed. Well done… and all those other Wow! things😉

    Reply
    1. Angela van Son Post author

      I’ve slowly gotten used to sharing it. Starting with a blog that nobody knew about, and I only showed to one or two persons. Then I sometimes shared one on Facebook. Etc. etc. This was still a HUGE leap though. And I was abroad, not at home. That made it easier🙂

      Reply
      1. Dawn D

        I think I’ve only shared one poem on FB ever. All others have only been on my blog. Which, as you may know, isn’t exactly out there😉
        Oh, well… one day, maybe🙂

Leave a Reply

