Scattered everywhere

Toys scattered everywhere
Or at least on every free surface
Formerly free surface

I count castles
One, two, three visible ones
And I know of one hiding

A skull with an aubergine next to it
One is a game
One an egg timer

Two remote controls
One being blocked by a mug

A crown, two teddy bears
A book, another book

An orange slice
That one’s a chair

Bunting in decay
A painting in progress

Flamingos walking on a pillow case
Covering one that’s a poem

Poems scattered everywhere
Or at least on every free surface

napowrimo1

This was the prompt for day 12:

Describe in great detail your favorite room, place, meal, day, or person. You can do this in paragraph form. Now cut unnecessary words like articles and determiners (a, the, that) and anything that isn’t really necessary for content; leave mainly nouns, verbs, a few adjectives. Cut the lines where you see fit and, VOILA! A poem!

It turned out I’m pretty sparse when I’m describing, there were no words I wanted to take out πŸ™‚ Describing is not my favourite thing, and it will never be. But I’m gladΒ I tried the prompt. That’s what #NaPoWriMo is for, stretching yourself.

11 thoughts on “Scattered everywhere

  1. Angela van Son Post author

    Thanks G. I’m afraid I’ve described this as ‘this poem bores me to death’. I’d rather look around me than read this. Which is fine, it’s my living room after all πŸ™‚

    Reply
  2. Dawn D

    I’m glad you gave it a try. I think I almost gave up on NaPoWriMo. The prompts do nothing for me and I have other things that occupy my mind… 😦

    Reply
    1. Angela van Son Post author

      Well, you write everyday and you write beautifully. You’re doing great in expressing yourself and being creative. Just let the poems be for now if they are elusive. The one month of poetry thingies are always crazy, you need head space for them I believe. Or you’ll drain yourself like I did last time (I was burn-out before I even began). It’s always a good time for self care!

      Reply
      1. Dawn D

        Well, I did publish two poems today πŸ˜‰
        At least that’s that! I didn’t always follow the prompts. I really DON’T have headspace for crazy complicated technique.
        But thank you for your comment on my writing. Yes, I guess the most important is that I do let it out, one way or the other!
        I’m doing a lot of self-care at the moment. I guess I need it! πŸ™‚

      2. Dawn D

        Don’t worry, there are days like that πŸ˜‰
        I haven’t written much today. Been busy doing other things, and it’s fine too!

  3. Pingback: Scattered everywhere take two | Unassorted stories

Leave a Reply

