Who’s counting?

zombie_frog_800Sweet little sixteen
wrote fourteen lines
to make her number one
love her second to none

The seventh son of the seventh son
took a fifth after eight

That’s murder in the third degree
he stated, satisfied
after killing his fourth zombie

Nine, ten
to kill again
thirteen birds
with fifteen stone
as he dropped a tup on the aviary

The prompt for NaPoWriMo day 3 was a fourteneer. This is as close as I’ll get to one😉 Syllable counts are beyond me. I loved reading what other people came up with though. If you like to read more, my dear online friend David compiled a list of participants whose work he loves: http://toofulltowrite.com/2015/04/03/poem-poetry-a-road-ravaged-by-thoughts/

napo2015button1

6 thoughts on “Who’s counting?

      1. Dawn D

        Again, my phone lost the reply😦
        I understand that you wanted a break… I didn’t write much poetry since OctPoWriMo either… But I had felt the need to start writing some for a little while, it’s just that I didn’t know what about. I like the prompts for that, so I’m happy to start NaPoWriMo now🙂

      2. Angela van Son Post author

        The prompts are very helpful, even on the days that I don’t use them. But they provide a starting point. It looks like that’s all we need some days😉

      3. Dawn D

        Exactly. The rpompts give me a starting point. I need to write poetry but don’t know where to start. When I get some idea, whether on a theme or a form, it is really helpful in guiding my work.🙂

  1. Pingback: Poem / Poetry – “When The Tornado Strikes” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

Leave a Reply

