It’s allright, ma

I cannot write about my hunger for it’s too big
I cannot write about my hunger for it’s scary
I’m afraid my hunger will devour me when I take it into the light
Some things are better off in the shadows

So I eat, to not feel my hunger
So I drink, to not feel my hunger
So I smile, to not feel my hunger
So I reason, to not feel my hunger
So I deny, to not feel my hunger

I cannot write about my thirst for it’s too big
I cannot write about my thirst for it’s scary
I’m afraid my thirst will devour me when I take it into the light
Some things should remain in the shadows

So I drink, to not feel my thirst
So I eat, to not feel my thirst
So I smile, to not feel my thirst
So I reason, to not feel my thirst
So I deny, to not feel my thirst

I cannot write about my pain for it’s too big
I cannot write about my pain for it’s scary
I’m afraid my pain will devour me when I take it into the light
Some things should not exist

So I smile, to not feel my pain
So I eat, to not feel my pain
So I drink, to not feel my pain
So I reason, to not feel my pain
So I deny, to not feel my pain

It’s allright, I’m only bleeding on the inside

I thank Bob Dylan for the inspiration for the end of this poem, and the title. I thank OctPoWriMo for the prompt. Day 28!

13 thoughts on “It’s allright, ma

  1. Pingback: Requiem for OctPoWriMo 2014 | Unassorted stories

Leave a Reply

