Not feeling good

Birds flying high
don’t know how I feel
The sun in the sky
won’t know how I feel

There’s no new dawn
no new day
no new life
for me

Empathy is a lie
you don’t know how I feel
Don’t even try
to know how I feel

There’s no new day
no new light
no new life
for me

Here’s the intro for the prompt for #OctPoWriMo day10: “Today is World Mental Health Day, first established in 1992 by the World Federation for Mental Health. It’s a day to raise awareness about mental health issues through education and advocacy. One in four adults and one in five children will experience mental illness this year. (Resource: NAMI)”
Thinking about the prompt, this beautiful Nina Simone Song turned into something bleak in my head….

10 thoughts on “Not feeling good

    1. Angela van Son Post author

      Thank you Jessica! Somehow I fear that people will think ‘that’s easy, that’s cheating’. But it was a genuine poem. I like songs a lot, so they often form a starting point for me. A title, a phrase… I’ve added #song as a tag, so I can easily find them on my blog.

      Reply
      1. Jessica Scott

        No, I know what you mean. Any little thing is inspiration. I wrote a poem when I was a teen using only song lyrics from different songs. I did it for fun but it was good practice as well. I have music on all day instead of the tv (not a big tv watcher), so I get how they are your starting point. I wrote two poems because of song titles: A River Flows In You and The Sunbeams They Scatter. Music is a HUGE inspiration!

  1. Fida

    I thought it felt familiar. It really is how some people feel and I want to tell them the opposite. Someone out there knows, one just doesn’t know it.

    Reply
    1. Angela van Son Post author

      You are right Fida, people who know what it’s like, know how it feels. And there’s a number out there. Most don’t wear it on their sleeve, so many people think they are alone in their experience.

      Reply
  2. Anna Stewart

    Oh thank you for mentioning the song! I was reading it and thinking…there’s something about this that reminds me of something…a song…it was gonna bug me all day. That said, I really like the melancholy feel and the nod to the song. Very sobering…but lovely.

    Reply
    1. Angela van Son Post author

      An absent earworm: there’s a song going through your head but not quite because you don’t know which one it is… I’m glad I could prevent that from happening🙂

      Reply
  3. seekingmeme

    Your poem reminded me of the depression that followed losing my brother in an auto accident when he was 22. That feeling is evident in your first stanza – the birds, the sun… the world keeps turning, but the depression has hold and won’t let go. Thank you for sharing this today.

    Reply
    1. Angela van Son Post author

      Thank you for sharing, and I’m really sorry you went through that. 22, so young! Though I guess any age is too young to lose a brother, it hurts even more when it’s this young and this unexpected.

      Reply
  4. Pingback: Requiem for OctPoWriMo 2014 | Unassorted stories

Leave a Reply

