No brainer

You’re just using me for sex, she said
Finally someone can be bothered
They’ve prostituted my brain for longer than I care to remember
But nobody ever lay their hands on me

How come you whisper sweet nothings in my ears?
They don’t speak twelve languages fluently
How come you are interested in my breasts?
They’ve never solved a mathematical problem
Why do you caress my vagina?
It never won a spelling contest

You’re just using me for sex, she said
Finally someone cares that I’m female
My pristine brain you’ll never touch
But please, lay those hands on me again

I couldn’t care less
that I already forgot your name
Let’s just use each other for sex
and make me forget my brain

I wrote this yesterday for day 4 of NaPoWrimo. Little did I know what today’s prompt would be… For me it suits the spirit of the prompt, but I get it when people disgree. Let’s just say I prefer feminism over mysogism, so you know where I’m coming from.

14 thoughts on “No brainer

  1. Anna Stewart

    Refreshing look at sex and sexuality. I like the empowerment of admitting women are allowed to want physical connection and that even smart women can and do want to be acknowledged as women, physical and sexual. Very strong voice and that last line has an almost pleading quality to it…gives the sense of loneliness. Love it!

    Reply
  2. seekingmeme

    This is incredible. Every line speaks to me and I understand. I’ve felt the same way, especially “My pristine brain you’ll never touch
    But please, lay those hands on me again”
    So wonderful!

    Reply
  3. Pingback: #OctPoWriMo 5 | Diary of a Writerbee

  4. Dawn D

    Yes, I love how this poem conveys the fact that, no matter what our brains are made of, sexuality is a primal need, a very physical one, and that everyone of us needs that primal need to be filled, simply, forgetting our more cognizant brains.
    I know that I didn’t discover that side of myself until fairly recently but I do enjoy the letting go involved with (allowed by?) the physical sensations.

    Reply
  5. Pingback: Requiem for OctPoWriMo 2014 | Unassorted stories

Leave a Reply

