Substitute (Someone’s words not mine)

I want me to want me.
I need me to need me.
I’d love me to love me.
I’m beggin’ me to beg me.
I want me to want me.
I need me to need me.
I’d love me to love me.

I’ll shine up my old brown shoes.
I’ll put on a brand new shirt
I’ll get home early from work
If I say that I love me.
Didn’t I, didn’t I, didn’t I,
See me cryin’ (cryin, cryin’).
Oh, Didn’t I, didn’t I, didn’t I,
See me cryin’ (cryin, cryin’)
Feelin’ all alone without a friend
I know I feel like dyin’ (dyin’, dyin’).
Oh, didn’t I, didn’t I, didn’t I,
See me cryin’ (cryin’, cryin’).

I want me to want me.
I need me to need me.
I’d love me to love me.
I’m beggin’ me to beg me.

I’ll shine up my old brown shoes.
I’ll put on a brand new shirt
I’ll get home early from work
If I say that I love me.
Didn’t I, didn’t I, didn’t I,
See you cryin’ (cryin, cryin’).
Oh, Didn’t I, didn’t I, didn’t I,
See me cryin’ (cryin, cryin’)
Feelin’ all alone without a friend
I know I feel like dyin’ (dyin’, dyin’).
Oh, didn’t I, didn’t I, didn’t I,
See me cryin’ (cryin’, cryin’).

Feelin’ all alone without a friend
I know I feel like dyin’ (dyin’, dyin’).
Oh, didn’t I, didn’t I, didn’t I,
See me cryin’ (cryin’, cryin’).
Feelin’ all alone without a friend
I know I feel like dyin’ (dyin’, dyin’).
Oh, didn’t I, didn’t I, didn’t I,
See me cryin’ (cryin’, cryin’).

I want me to want me.
I need me to need me.
I’d love me to love me.
I’m beggin’ me to beg me.


I Want You To Want Me lyrics © EMI Music Publishing
Songwriter: Nielsen, Rick
Search and paste: Angela van Son

I wrote this when I came home and felt so tired that I hated being me. It just popped up in my head, and I decided to write it down to see what happened to the text if I substituted the words throughout the whole text. Luckily I did, it meant that I created two poems yesterday and I could still enter October Poetry Writing Month. Which had started without me noticing…

2 thoughts on “Substitute (Someone’s words not mine)

  1. Pingback: Requiem for OctPoWriMo 2014 | Unassorted stories

Leave a Reply

