Some body I used to know

Some body I used to know

Now and then I think of when we were together
You felt like you were mine
and I could lean on you

You got addicted to a certain kind of sadness
it was doom and gloom
and tough to be inside of you

But you didn’t have to cut me off
Refuse all contact
Issue a restraining order

You didn’t have to stoop so low
to sever our arteries and let me go

Now you’re just some body that I used to know

Now and then I think of all the times you screwed me over
I was doing fine
but you wouldn’t let me alone

You had me believe it was always something that I’d done
that I was born a sinner
and always needed to prove my right to live

I didn’t want to live that way
sorry about everything
all the time

I’m so happy that I cut you off
I admit it was a little rough
too much blood but I had had enough

All that’s is left is the body that I used to know

The inspiration for this poem – day 19 of NaPoWriMo – came from listening to this song that I love. Then my mind wandered off in more gruesome directions…

One thought on “Some body I used to know

  1. TooFullToWrite

    Such sadness in this – the format is very clever, I like how it was presented and the flip halfway through. It is very musical, I can totally see the inspiration coming through from a song.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

