Full stop

Jesus died for somebody’s sins
but not mine, he said.
Perfectly aware
he was strapped to an electric chair.

The rooster crowed three times.
My job is done, he said.
Perfectly aware
that he’d had none.

The man shrugged and said
I ate the apple since there was no stone to throw.
I was perfectly aware
that I’d reap what I sow.

The executioner washed his hands
and said my hands are clean.
Perfectly aware
of the unfolded scene.

Do you know what he did?
He killed all first-borns, I said.
Perfectly aware
that he did it.

Perfectly aware that he did it.

My contribution to #NaPoWriMo day 16. I used the first sentence of this song as a prompt:

One thought on “Full stop

  1. Pingback: Full stop | Unassorted stories

Leave a Reply

