Save a prayer

I prey for food in my stomach

I prey for a sturdy nest

I prey for water when I need it

I prey I teach my children to do their best

I pray that this hawk doesn’t see me

I pray that our children sit still

I pray for the danger to be over

’cause I’m hungry and eat I will

I say thanks for the food in my stomach

I say thanks for the safety of our nest

I say thanks to the mice that I ate today

Tomorrow my children will be back for the rest

(#NaPoWriMo day 2 The prompt was to write from an animal’s perspective)

Leave a Reply

